Destinations International Announces 2017-2018 Board of Directors and Foundation Board of Trustees

WASHINGTON D.C. (July 13, 2017) – Destinations International today announced the 2017-2018 Board of Directors and Foundation Board of Trustees. Tammy Blount, FCDME, President and CEO of the Monterey County Convention and Visitors Bureau (MCCVB) assumed the role of Chair of Destinations International and Stephanie Pace Brown, President & CEO of Explore Asheville, assumed the role of Chair of the Destinations International Foundation.

“It is a great honor to serve as Chair of Destinations International,” says Blount. “Our trade organization is needed by our industry now more than ever, and the opportunities to learn from the expertise and experience of our global members is key as the travel industry faces so many significant challenges in today’s world. The education, tools, programs and networking offered by Destinations International are critical to the evolution of our industry, and therefore, to the growth of travel worldwide bringing economic, social, cultural and educational benefit to the communities we serve.”

“I am excited about the work that is made possible by the Foundation to support destination organizations worldwide,” said Brown. “The Trustees are committed to the success of the industry and I am proud to lead our efforts to provide research, advocacy tools and educational opportunities to help our colleagues thrive.”

Destinations International:

The Executive Committee for the 2017-2018 Destinations International Board of Directors includes:

  • Tammy Blount, President & CEO, Monterey County Convention & Visitors Bureau: Chair
  • Gary Sherwin, President & CEO Visit Newport Beach, Inc.: Immediate Past Chair
  • William Pate, President & CEO, Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau, Chair-Elect
  • Craig Davis, President & CEO, VisitPITTSBURGH: Secretary-Treasurer
  • Julie Coker Graham, President & CEO, Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau: Director at-Large
  • Bryan Grimaldi, COO & General Counsel, NYC & Company: Director at-Large
  • Chris Thompson, President & CEO, Brand USA: Director at-Large

New board members for the Association include:

  • Bennish Brown, President & CEO, Travel Tacoma + Pierce County
  • Ignasi de Delas, President, Barcelona Turisme
  • Tom Noonan, President & CEO, Visit Austin
  • Ron Price, President & CEO, Arlington Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • Marla Roe, Executive Director, Frisco Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • Butch Spyridon, President & CEO, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corporation

Destinations International Foundation:

The Destinations International Foundation Executive Committee for 2017-2018 includes:

  • Stephanie Pace Brown, President & CEO, Explore Asheville: Chair
  • Joseph Marinelli, President, Visit Savannah: Past Chair
  • Jason Fulvi, Executive Vice President, VisitPITTSBURGH: Chair-Elect
  • John Groh, President & CEO, Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau: Secretary-Treasurer
  • John Lambeth, President & CEO, Civitas: Trustee at-Large

New board members for the Foundation for 2017-2018 include:

  • Keith Backsen, Executive Director, Visit Omaha
  • Scott Beck, President & CEO, Visit Salt Lake
  • Vail Brown, SVP, Global Business Development & Marketing, STR
  • Jay Burress, President & CEO, Visit Anaheim
  • Cheryl Kilday, President & CEO, Visit Spokane
  • Martha Sheridan, President & CEO, Providence Warwick Convention & Visitors Bureau